Please Can I Have a Man

Please can I have a man
whose most romantic line is when I rise, you shine.
A man who only occasionally pays for dinner. Makes me
do the DIY. But even in the crowdedness of a Bold Street
café, stares at me as though there’s a battlefield housing a war
-a raging war- one just waiting to be won on the surface of my lips.
A man whose smile only forms on the taste buds of my tongue.
Whose midnight moon peaks through the gap of my front teeth.
Please can I have a man whose world begins and ends
on the mahogany island of my areola. Whose fingertips
trace the stretch marks that brand my hips. Heading south.
Finding unexplored paths that lead to the tsunami roaring
between my thighs. A man who at the break of dawn,
the morning after our first night before, refuses
to kiss me goodbye.

One thought on “Please Can I Have a Man

Leave a Reply

